Have you heard that having a drink before going to bed will improve sleep quality? Alcohol has an attraction that many of us cannot resist. Different types of alcoholic beverages will influence different type of moods—Beer, Wine, Cocktails all have their specific food pairings, settings etc. The drink before bed usually makes people feel lighter and relaxed. But, will going to sleep in this state guarantee a good night’s rest? What is the actual connection between having a drink and going to sleep?


Will having a drink help improve sleep quality?

It’s a known fact that alcohol can help us relax. In the study “Sleep, Sleepiness, and Alcohol Use”, the researchers found that by administering 0.16 to 1.0 grams of alcohol per kilogram of body weight to subjects 30 to 60 minutes prior to sleep allowed the subjects to fall asleep much faster than subjects not introduced to alcohol.

But does this data really mean that drinking will help with sleep?

 

Falling asleep faster ≠ Better sleep quality! Alcohol will affect the sleep cycle

Quality of sleep is dependent on the completeness of the sleep cycle! An adult sleeps about 6-8 hours a night on average. During a full night’s sleep, we will also pass through about 4-5 sleep cycles (each cycle lasts about 90 minutes). Each cycle will also consist of a NREM (Non Rapid Eye Movement) and REM (Rapid Eye Movement) portions. Moreover, the NREM portion further consists of light sleep and deep sleep states.

 

  • NREM (Non-Rapid Eye Movement): When we first start to feel sleepy, start to doze-off and our mind is not able to focus. This is the light-sleep state. For those that suffer from insomnia, this state will last much longer before entering into sleep. During deep-sleep is when the body repairs itself and is the most important part of sleep. In deep-sleep, the breath will become slow and regular and we will not be easily awoken. After a time in deep-sleep state, we will return to a light-sleep state but again will not be easily awoken as the cycle will enter into the REM portion of the sleep cycle. (one complete sleep cycle consists of : light-sleep → deep-sleep → light-sleep → REM)
  • REM (Rapid Eye Movement): As the name implies, the eyes will make very rapid movements during this portion of the cycle. The brain is very active and is organizing the information received during the day and putting our memories into our minds’ filing system. This is a very important time for our brains. Since the brain is very active during this state, this is the stage of sleep that dreams often occurs. When REM state is completed, a new sleep cycle will begin again and return to a cycle of light-sleep→deep-sleep→light-sleep→REM.

 

During a normal night of sleep cycles, our deep-sleep states will become shorter and shorter while the REM portions will become longer. So when you sleep for longer periods of time (over 8 hours), you’re more likely to be in a REM portion or light-sleep state. The brain is still active in both these times and when you awake, you still feel tired.

After drinking, the first 1~2 cycles of REM portions are suppressed and their duration is much shorter than normal. However, after two cycles of sleep, the alcohol has been metabolized by the body and the REM portions will rebound back and try to make up for the suppressed states by prolonging the time spent in REM. In other words, the latter part of our sleep, the deep-sleep states will decrease drastically and most of the time will be spent in light-sleep or REM sleep. In addition to being easily awoken, constant dreaming will not allow the body to rest properly. Therefore, people that like to drink before going to sleep will have poor sleep quality or feel like they haven’t gotten enough sleep. In the long run this will cause more harm to the body!

 

Besides Disrupting Our Sleep Cycle, Alcohol Will Cause Other Sleep Problems

When alcohol enters our stomachs, it affects our central nervous system by allowing the blood vessels to expand and increases our body’s heat dissipation. Therefore, after drinking we will temporary feel hot, but quickly afterwards our body temperature will decrease. If we do not keep our bodies warm, we will be prone to temperature loss. In addition, alcohol has a diuretic function which may cause us to have to get up to go to the bathroom at night which also interrupts our sleep cycle.

Since alcohol directly affects our nervous system, it will cause our muscles to relax (including our respiratory tract) causing snoring; sleep apnea (a syndrome that causes interruption or stoppage of breathing during sleep) which may be dangerous if untreated and of course, will affect the people that you are sleeping with.

For people who have been relying on drinking for a long period of time, to help fall asleep. Asides from snoring and poor quality of sleep, addiction to alcohol may become a risk. When the body is used to the presence of alcohol, it will require more and more to achieve the same relaxing effects which may lead to an unending malicious cycle.

 

Reduce Drinking Before Going to Bed, Use Other Methods to Alleviate Insomnia

Although drinking can help us fall asleep faster, it actually affects the quality of sleep. A small pleasure can have large repercussions. There are many ways to counter insomnia and improve sleep quality these days. Seeking medical treatment, doing exercise, diet therapy, even buying new bedding, negative ion air purifiers, sports necklaces and bracelets are all good alternatives to minimizing the reliance on alcohol as much as possible.

If you really can’t stop drinking. Then try not to sleep immediately after drinking to allow the body more time to metabolize the alcohol and reduce the effects of alcohol on the sleep cycle!

To summarize, many scholars and actual research do not agree that drinking will help with sleep quality. However, to help with sleep, Artificer’s sports necklaces also provide our own benefits and hopes that everyone can find your own ideal way to improve your sleep quality.

 

Further Reading:

Battle for Better Sleep Quality! Seize the 3 Hours Before Going to Sleep


References:

National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism – Sleep, Sleepiness, And Alcohol Use
https://pubs.niaaa.nih.gov/publications/arh25-2/101-109.htm

Sleep Foundation – How alcohol affects the quality – and quality of sleep
https://sleepfoundation.org/sleep-topics/how-alcohol-affects-sleep

Drink Aware – Alcohol and sleep
https://www.drinkaware.co.uk/alcohol-facts/health-effects-of-alcohol/effects-on-the-body/alcohol-and-sleep/

喝酒的「副作用」讓失眠越來越惡化!
http://www.spirits.url.tw/6-2.asp?nid=11624

click to share:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

說到睡眠品質提升的關鍵,相信許多人應該聽過:睡前小酌一杯的說法吧?酒有一種我們無法抗拒的魔力,不同的酒種又能反應不一樣的心境,啤酒、紅酒、白酒……等,各自點綴不同的時刻,睡前的那杯酒,總讓人輕飄飄、感覺身心放鬆,這樣的狀態上床睡覺,必定能一夜好眠吧?喝酒到底跟睡眠品質有什麼關聯性,可以參考以下資訊,增加對睡前那小小一杯的了解。

 


喝酒有可能會幫助睡眠品質嗎?

酒精能讓人有放鬆的感覺,是無法否認的,在《Sleep, Sleepiness, and Alcohol Use》所引用的報告中發現,研究人員讓受測者在睡前大約30~60分鐘內攝取酒精,酒精的劑量範圍為受測者體重每公斤的0.16~1.0g (g/kg),在這個劑量範圍下的受測者,比沒有攝取酒精的人更容易入睡。

不過這代表喝酒對於睡眠品質,有正面的影響嗎?

 

快快入睡≠好的睡眠品質!酒精會打亂睡眠周期

睡眠品質取決於睡眠周期的完整性!成人一天的睡覺時數差不多是6~8個鐘頭,在一夜睡眠中,我們大致會經歷4~5個睡眠周期(一個睡眠周期大約是90分鐘),在每個睡眠周期裡,我們分別會經歷NREM非快速動眼期和REM快速動眼期,NREM非快速動眼期裡又分為淺睡以及熟睡。

 

  • NREM非快速動眼期:當我們要開始睡覺時,打瞌睡、神智開始不清醒時,便是進入淺睡的狀態,對於有失眠症狀的人,在這個階段會花費更多的時間,才能進入熟睡。熟睡期則是所謂的深度睡眠,身體會在此時進行修復,也是睡眠最重要的時刻,呼吸會變得緩慢且規律,不容易醒過來。在經過一陣子的熟睡期後,又會返回淺睡期,但不會馬上讓人清醒過來,而是接續到REM快速動眼期。(一個睡眠周期:淺睡→深睡→淺睡→REM)
  • REM快速動眼期:如其名,這時期的眼球會活絡轉動,大腦活躍運作,整理白天的訊息,將記憶在腦袋中歸檔,對大腦來說是個很重要的時期。也因為大腦活躍,這個時期常常會作夢,也稱做作夢期。當REM結束後,又會重啟一個睡眠周期,回歸到淺睡→深睡→淺睡→REM的循環中。

 

在一個夜晚的正常睡眠周期中,我們的深睡期會越來越短,快速動眼期會越來越長,所以說睡得越久(超過8小時),越可能處在REM或者是淺睡期,大腦一直作夢,起來時反而覺得很累。

而在喝酒之後,會壓抑前1~2個睡眠周期裡的REM期,變得比正常情況下短許多,不過當酒精經過兩輪的睡眠周期後,已經被身體代謝掉了,被壓抑的REM發生反彈。簡單來說就是後半場的睡眠,深度睡眠期大幅減少,大部分的時間處於淺眠和REM時期,除了容易醒來、一直作夢、也沒辦法得到很好的休息,所以睡前飲酒的人,睡眠品質容易不好,或者是睡眠時數不夠,長久下來反而對身體造成傷害!

 

酒除了打亂周期,還會有其他睡眠問題發生

酒精下肚後影響中樞神經,讓血管擴張,加速身體散熱,所以飲酒後會暫時感到脹熱,但緊接著身體的體溫下降,如果沒有做好保暖,反而可能有失溫的問題;除此之外,酒精也有利尿的功能,容易在夜間需要起來上廁所,中斷睡眠周期。

酒精因為影響神經,會放鬆肌肉(包含呼吸道的肌肉),睡覺時比平常更可能出現打呼、呼吸中止等狀況,不僅成為生命的風險,更會引影響到同寢共眠的人。

長期仰賴飲酒來幫助睡眠的人,除了打呼、睡眠品質下降,也有可能造成成癮問題,當身體習慣當下的酒精量後,需要一次比一次多的劑量才能感到放鬆,陷入惡性循環之中。

 

減少睡前飲酒,用其他方法解決失眠

喝酒雖然可以幫助入眠的速度,但是對整夜睡眠品質造成影響,反而因小失大。坊間針對失眠、提升睡眠品質有許多方法,無論是就醫、運動、食療,甚至是添購寢具、負離子清淨機、運動項鍊手環,或許都會是值得嘗試的方向,盡可能的不要依賴於酒精。

如果真的無法戒酒,建議喝完不要馬上睡覺,而是多點時間讓身體代謝掉酒精,減輕酒精對睡眠周期的影響!

綜上所述,許多學者和實際研究並不贊同:人們需要為了幫助睡眠品質,而依賴幾杯黃腸下肚。不過實際助眠的方法,Artificer運動項鍊也有自己的答案,希望大家都能找到最適合自己的方法,提升睡眠品質。

 

延伸閱讀:

睡眠品質提升大作戰!把握睡前3小時


參考資料:

National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism – Sleep, Sleepiness, And Alcohol Use
https://pubs.niaaa.nih.gov/publications/arh25-2/101-109.htm

Sleep Foundation – How alcohol affects the quality – and quality of sleep
https://sleepfoundation.org/sleep-topics/how-alcohol-affects-sleep

Drink Aware – Alcohol and sleep
https://www.drinkaware.co.uk/alcohol-facts/health-effects-of-alcohol/effects-on-the-body/alcohol-and-sleep/

喝酒的「副作用」讓失眠越來越惡化!
http://www.spirits.url.tw/6-2.asp?nid=11624

點擊分享:

發表迴響

你的電子郵件位址並不會被公開。 必要欄位標記為 *