The 2012 London Olympics, was Chuang Chih-yuan’s first time ever advancing into the Olympic Men’s table tennis semi-finals.  For someone who has had more than his fair share of struggles and lows to continue to have such a fight and persistence really got our respect.

These players have been flying overseas to compete for many years.  Although many companies, associations or predecessors accompany them and try their best to support them.  Most of the opponents come from countries that have a very good professional league—such as China, Europe, Japan etc.; they come from very good training with excellent resources.  In order to have a solid standing in the international arena, aside from raw talent, hard work and ability to overcome hardship is mandatory.

2012 Chuang Chih-yuan advances to the semi-finals in Olympic competition

 

When we first considered looking for a spokesperson for Artificer, sports figures naturally came to mind.  The Artificer spirit invokes one that in addition to focusing on your field of expertise, more importantly, it requires a steadfast passion and a courage to continually grow and breakthrough.  This type of mindset is rare in non-athletes!

 

After a period of observation and review of all the information.  Our team intuitively chose Chuang Chih-yuan and Hsu Shu-ching, two professional athletes who embody the Artificer spirit.

 

After contacting the family of Chuang Chih-yuan.  The team members set off to Kaohsiung for a visit.

 

What greeted us was a massive wall of barking sounds.  The number of dogs found in the training center was astonishing—describing it like an army of dogs would not be an exaggeration in the least!  We learned that all of these were stray dogs that were adopted by Chih-yuan’s family and each and every one of them are all very well taken care of.  In the late afternoon, Chih-yuan’s mother put on gloves and started to prepare the food which consisted of ground meats for all the dogs, she really looked like a traditional market meat vendor preparing the orders for customers.

 

During our conversations, their entire family was very polite, straight-forward, natural and took our questions very seriously.  This was the impression that their family gave us.

 

Establishing a stadium, the whole family working to cultivate new table tennis stars

Walking into the Chuang Chih-yuan Ping Pong Stadium, we see many young players being trained by the Chuang family who are focused on practicing.  With the constant sounds of the balls hitting the racquets and the tables, the stadium sounds like a concert hall filled with many different percussionists.  In addition to practicing table tennis skills, Chih-yuan’s Mother and Chuang Chih-hsiung (Chih-yuan’s older brother) are very strict with the young players’ etiquette.  They are all very polite and courteous, which is the deep impression that the Chih-yuan Ping Pong Stadium children left with us.

 

This Ping Pong Stadium is the seed for the future cultivation of table tennis in Taiwan by the Chuang family.  They once said that creating and building the stadium was quite a lot of pressure.  But with the support of many people, they were able to continue and complete the stadium.  Asides from being grateful and giving their all, they are sowing the seeds of hope, one player after another, anticipating Taiwan’s table tennis legacy will continue.

 

Chuang Chih-yuan has been involved in table tennis for 30 years.  He has experienced limiting resources, training in unfamiliar settings, has gained much experience by competing in many large and small competitions.  Even now, after creating the training center, cultivating new players—it’s not unfair to say that he has devoted his entire life to the sport. Unstoppable, his progress is unending.  He continues to travel and competes in the different championships around the world to challenge himself.

 

For us, to be able to cooperate with an athlete that exhibits such determination is really a stroke of luck and fate.

>More About Chuang Chin-yuan

click to share:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

2012年的倫敦奧運,莊智淵打進了人生中首次的奧運男子桌球四強,對於已經歷許久低潮的他,能有這樣持續堅持與奮鬥的精神,實在令我們佩服。

試想這些選手長年征戰海外,雖有許多企業、協會工作者或者是前輩先進,一直陪伴著這些選手前進並盡力支持他們,但所面對的對手,大多擁有相對豐沛的訓練資源,要不就是有良好的職業聯盟環境(例如中國大陸、歐洲、日本等地區),想要在國際間佔有一席基地,除了本身有天分之外,努力與辛苦是絕對少不了的。

2012年莊智淵出戰奧運,進入四強 (圖片來源:中華民國桌球協會)

當我們在尋找Artificer能夠攜手合作的代言人時,運動員的身影很自然而然浮現在我們的腦海中。Artificer所代表的精神,除了專注在自己熱愛的領域上,更得擁有一顆堅定的心、還有不斷成長突破的勇氣,能與之相符的非運動員莫屬了!

 

在長期觀察與了解運動相關訊息之後,團隊直覺地選擇莊智淵與許淑淨,兩位正在實踐Artificer精神的職業運動員。

 

在聯繫了莊智淵一家人後,團隊成員啟程前往高雄拜訪。

 

迎接我們的,是此起彼落的汪汪聲,館內的狗狗數量,足以多到讓我們詫異,稱之為狗狗部隊一點也不為過。後來得知這些是莊智淵一家人所收養的流浪狗,每一隻都被照顧的無微不至。傍晚時,莊媽媽親自戴著手套處理向傳統市場攤販要的邊角肉,準備滿足狗狗們的五臟廟。

 

在交流的過程裡,他們一家人非常客氣,純樸、自然、認真,是他們全家人帶給我們的感受。

 

建立球館,全家齊心投入培育乒乓球新苗

走進莊智淵乒乓球館內,裡面有許多莊家培養的小選手們正在認真專注的練球,小圓球不斷撞擊著球拍、敲打著練習桌,這些聲音,讓人彷彿進入了音樂廳中,感受一場與眾不同的打擊樂。除了練習球技外,莊媽媽和莊智雄(莊智淵的兄長)對小選手們的教育也有所要求,彬彬有禮、重視倫理,是我們對智淵乒乓球館中學子們的印象。

 

這間球館,是莊智淵一家人對台灣乒乓球發展所耕耘的一畝田,他們曾經說過,建造這間球館的壓力其實很大,但也因為受到許多人士的支持得以持續,除了感謝和用心投入,播下一顆又一顆希望的種子,期盼為台灣的乒乓球界帶來更多可能。

 

莊智淵從事桌球運動已邁入三十個年頭,渡過資源短缺、移地訓練等艱困時期,參加大大小小的賽事累積經驗,到近年來成立球館、培養後輩,可以說人生都奉獻給了桌球運動。現在的他也沒停下腳步,依然前往各地的錦標賽挑戰自己,

 

對Artificer來說,我們能與這樣堅毅的夥伴相識、合作,是很難得的緣分和幸運。

>更多關於莊智淵的心路歷程

點擊分享:

發表迴響

你的電子郵件位址並不會被公開。 必要欄位標記為 *