Mobile Phones, A New Health Worry

Electromagnetic waves exist as energy in nature, but the speed of technology development in the past few decades has exposed us to even greater amounts of electromagnetic waves than ever before. In our day to day lives, cell phones have become our indispensable “smart” devices. When we go out nowadays, we can leave home without everything EXCEPT our cell phones! On the flipside of all the convenience offered hides a slow and sure emerging risk…

 

 

June 2011, WHO classifies cell phones as a 2B Carcinogen

The WHO in June of 2011 announced in 14 countries their report on cell phones relating to health. In particular, they indicated that people who use cell phones for over 10 years are two times more at risk of developing gliomas (a malignant type of brain cancer). Thus the report concluded that cell phones are considered a 2B carcinogen (possibly carcinogenic to
humans).

WHO classifies cell phones as a 2B carcinogen

 

Using cell phones on the MRT or elevators increases the electromagnetic interference by 6-15 times

In 2013, the research report by The Ministry of Environmental Protection of China found that the intensity of electromagnetic interference generated by cell phones on moving objects (including subways) was 6 times greater than at rest; and in closed spaces (such as elevators) was 15 times greater. When cell phones are in poor signal areas, they will increase their reception thus increasing electromagnetic interference to try and connect to the nearest cell tower to maintain signal strength.

 

More and more research and reports have been conducted to track whether electromagnetic interference from cell phones impact the human body. At present, there is no definitive experimental results indicating that the use of cell phones can cause cancer. But it is known that electromagnetic interference are indeed a risk factor. Understanding how to use cell phone correctly may reduce the health effects and risks to the human body.

 

To reduce the effects of electromagnetic interference (EMI) to our bodies, it is suggested that we can follow the guidelines below

 

  1. When talking on a cell phone, try to use wired headphones as much as possible, or hold the phone so as not to be in contact with our face or body. If using in a private space, recommend using the speaker phone feature. The influence of electromagnetic interference on the human body will be decreased drastically with increased distance.
  2. In the absence of a remote control or Bluetooth device connection, it is recommended that when the phone rings, wait a few seconds after answering the phone to ensure that the call is connected before setting it to your ear to talk. The EMI is strongest when the phone is dialed or ringing.
  3. If you carry a bag or purse when you go out, it is recommended to put the phone in the bag/purse to reduce the proximity of the phone to your body.
  4. Avoid using your cell phone before going to bed. Besides decreasing the EMI affecting sleep, it will also reduce the amount of blue light that harms our eyes.
  5. In areas of poor reception, such as confined spaces, basements or fast-moving vehicles, try to minimize your use of cell phones. Poor signals will cause the cell phone to send stronger electromagnetic frequency signals to try and maintain a stable signal strength by connecting to the nearest base station/stations.

 

Furthermore, if you have children, try to reduce the amount of time playing with cell phones or tablets! Children’s skulls are much thinner than adults and contain much higher fluid content. This makes them more susceptible to the risk and interference of electromagnetic radiation than adults. Many public health departments in Europe and North American also recommend that cell phone use for children be limited to emergency calls only.

 

Therefore, in addition to readjusting your habits and usage of technology products, don’t neglect to ensure the safety of your children by regulating the amount of times they use these devices.
 

For more on how electromagnetic interference affects our body and how cell phones use can directly influence our bodies, please refer to Bioelectricity

 


References:

WHO/IARC classifies Radiofrequency Electromagnetic Fields as possibly carcinogenic to humanshttp://www.iarc.fr/en/media-centre/pr/2011/pdfs/pr208_E.pdf

body is bad for our health! TV station measures the emission of EMF from cell phones / TVBS – https://news.tvbs.com.tw/tech/718376

South Korea: Talking on cell phone while in subway, increases EMF by 7 times/Apple Daily – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gHnb67VHjms

 

click to share:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

手機電磁波成為身體的健康新隱憂

電磁波是大自然中本就有的能量,但這幾十年間新科技的發明,讓我們暴露在比以往更多的電磁波底下了,日常生活中,手機成為不可或缺的智慧夥伴,現在出門什麼都可以不帶,唯獨手機不行忘記!不過便利的背後,有些風險慢慢出現了……

 

 

2011年6月,WHO將手機列為2B致癌風險

WHO世界衛生組織在2011年6月,公佈全球14國對於手機與健康風險的研究報告,其中提及用手機達10年以上的人,在腦部罹患神經膠質瘤(一種腦癌)的機率是一般人的兩倍,因此報告的結論中將手機列為2B 致癌風險(可能致癌,AS POSSIBLY CARCINOGENIC TO HUMANS)。

WHO將手機列為2B致癌風險

 

在捷運或電梯裡使用手機,電磁波輻射增加6-15倍

中國環境保護部研究報告於2013年,針對手機在不同環境中所產生的電磁波強度發現:在一個行進間的物體上使用手機(包括在地鐵列車),電磁波強度是靜止時使用手機的6倍,而在封閉空間(電梯中)使用行動電話時增加了15倍,因為手機無法接收信號時,會發出更強的電磁波試圖連接到最近的基地台。

 

越來越多的單位或報導,開始追蹤手機電磁波是不是會對人體造成影響,目前尚未有確切的實驗結果指出使用手機會致癌,不過已經知道電磁波是風險因子,了解怎麼正確的使用手機,可能可以降低電磁波對人體帶來的健康影響。

 

降低電磁波對身體的影響,建議可以這樣用

 

  1. 手機通話的時候,盡可能使用線控耳機,或讓手機不會緊貼在臉部,若是在個人空間使用則建議使用擴音通話,電磁波對人體的影響,會因為距離而減緩不少
  2. 如果沒有線控或藍芽裝置,手機鈴響時可稍待幾秒,確定接通後再置於耳邊通話,因為手機在撥通的瞬間,電磁波是最強的。
  3. 如果平常出門有帶隨身包包,建議可將手機放在包包裡,減少貼身存放的頻率。
  4. 睡前減少使用手機,除了降低電磁波對睡眠的干擾,也可以減少藍光的影響
  5. 在通訊品質不良的環境像是密閉空間、地下室、迅速移動的交通工具時,手機通話盡可能的長話短說,因為手機接收不到穩定訊號時,會發出更強的電磁波試圖連接到最近的基地台。

 

另外,如果家裡有小朋友的話,建議減少讓小朋友玩手機、平板的頻率!小朋友的頭蓋骨比成人薄,腦部所含液體較多,受到電磁波干擾的風險也比成人高,歐美地區許多公共衛生部門也建議小朋友使用手機,應僅限於緊急通話。

 

所以除了調整科技產品的使用習慣,也別輕忽了小朋友玩手機、平板的狀況,記得為他們把關使用的時間。

 

更多電磁波對人體的影響與手機電磁波致使身體失衡相關測試,可參閱生物電流

 


文章參考相關資料與報導:

世界衛生組織IARC classifies Radiofrequency Electromagnetic Fields as possibly carcinogenic to humans – http://www.iarc.fr/en/media-centre/pr/2011/pdfs/pr208_E.pdf

手機貼身有礙健康!電視台實測電磁波超標 / TVBS – https://news.tvbs.com.tw/tech/718376

搭捷運講手機 南韓:電磁波高7倍 / 蘋果日報 – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gHnb67VHjms

 

點擊分享:

發表迴響

你的電子郵件位址並不會被公開。 必要欄位標記為 *